Marijuana Use - FAQ

Hampton Police Employment - Standards Explanation

New Hampshire Police Standards and Training Council

    • Question - I have used marijuana in the last 12 months where it was legal to use by Law (Maine, Mass, Colorado, etc...).  Does this marijuana use adversely affect me being able to work as a Police Officer in New Hampshire?

    • Answer - Time disqualification.  NH PSTC Administrative rules 301.05 prohibit Hampton PD from appointing anyone who has used marijuana in the 12 months prior to the date of submitting an application.  This is regardless of the legality of where it was used.

    • Example - You tried marijuana while visiting a State or Country that has legalized its use.  For this example lets say that was in January 2017.  An applicant would not be eligible for appointment as a Police Officer until February 2018.

    • Selection - Successful applicants must be able to truthfully state that they have not used marijuana in the last 12 months.  Applicant statements are verified by Background and Polygraph Investigation.